blog · cornwall

Christmas comes to St Ives: Cornwall ✨

I have never visited St Ives over Christmas before and to be honest I never knew that the town has so much going on over the festive season, I was in my element tonight. Rob accompanied me to a lovely event ‘Etsy Maker Cornwall’ and it turn out to be such a perfect night with him, he even got some of his Christmas shopping done *smile* thanks for my stocking fillers Rob.

The whole town was covered in lights and beautiful displays in the shop windows, I might have been freezing my butt off but the atmosphere was worth the frost bite- okay I am being a tad bit dramatic. The whole harbour had a halo of blue lights right around it and we just had to sit in the Balcony bar for a cocktail to soak in the view. Before walking around we went to the Etsy event and brought a couple of lovely items that I just needed in my life, plus some chocolates for a family members birthday next week ‘or do I keep the chocolate for myself…?’ The Guildhall was so busy for the event I do not do crowds so hastily left, I did return later when there was more room to walk around and to watch a Theatre show.

image

When we did return we where just in time to watch a show from the company ‘Kidz R Us’ Rob is such a bore he was not keen on the show but I loved it. They do shows all year round maybe in the new year I can take a trip over to St Ives to watch a show with my mum, I will be leaving Rob at home for that one. I forgot to mention that while wondering around the town we got to see some Reindeer, I kinda wish we took Logan now he would have had so much fun.

I was very surprised to see that some of the shops around the town where open as well but luckily they where, we got the bests gifts for Robs mum, auntie and sister. I was sad though that I didn’t see a chorros stall like I did in Truro last week, I hope I see a churros stall while in Plymouth tomorrow- I will let you know I am sure if I do see some yummy food.

A lovely lady in a shop handed me a helpful leaflet after I told her I had never been to St Ives over Christmas, the leaflet is filled with all the events that are going on each day. Here is a day by day list of what St I ves has to offer this Christmas…

2nd December

  • Father Christmas Comes To Town at 6-7pm in the St Ives harbour.
  • Kidz R Us Christmas Bazaarat in the St Ives theatre at 5-9pm.
  • Etsy Made Local Cornwall Christmas Fair in the Guildhall at 6-9pm.

3rd December

  • Christmassy Town on Fore Street all day.
  • Winter Wonderland Christmas Grotto at the Corhort Hostel Courtyard  at 12 – 4pm.
  • Etsy Made Local Cornwall Christmas Fair at 10am to 5pm.
  • History walk with Tony Mason at the The Malakoff at 12pm.

4th December

  • Etsy Christmas fair at 10 am to 5pm.

10th December

  • Right royal knees-up is on all day in times square.
  • Barnoon lantern-making workshops at 10am until 4pm.
  • Winter wonderland grotto at Cohort hostel courtyard at 12-4pm.

11th December

  • Phil & friends in the St Ives theatre at 7-9.30pm.
  • Barnoon lantern-making workshops at 10am-4pm.

15th December

  • Barnoon lantern-making workshops at 10am-4pm.
  • Countdown to Christmas ( Window display competition winner announcement)
  • History walk with Tony Mason in The Malakoff at 12pm.
  • Winter wonderland grotto at Cohort hostel courtyard at 12-4pm.
  • St Ives lantern parade 6pm at Barnoon workshop.

20th December

  • Christmas puppet show at the Boathouse theatre from 3-4pm.

21 December

  • Kidz R Us panto in the St Ives theatre at 2pm-4pm & 6:30-8.30pm.
  • Ghosr stories for winter nights at the Boathouse theatre at 7.30-9pm.

22nd December

  • Christmas puppet show at the Boathouse theatre 3-4pm.
  • Christmas farmer’s market in the Guildhall at 9.30am – 2pm.

23rd December

  • Kidz R Us panto in the St Ives theatre at 2pm-4pm & 6:30-8.30pm.
  • Ghost stories for winter nights at the Boathouse theatre at 7.30-9pm.

24th December

  • Christmas puppet show down the Boathouse theatre at 3-4pm.

25th December

MERRY CHRISTMAS!!

26th December

  • Boxing day swim at Porthminster beach at 12pm.

27th December

  • Christmas puppet show down the Boathouse theatre at 3-4pm.
  • Kidz R Us panto in the St Ives theatre at 2pm-4pm & 6:30-8.30pm.

28th December

  • Kidz R Us panto in the St Ives theatre at 2pm-4pm & 6:30-8.30pm.

29th December

  • Christmas puppet show down the Boathouse theatre at 3-4pm.
  • Ghost stories for winter nights at the Boathouse theatre at 7.30-9pm.

30th December

  • Christmas puppet show down the Boathouse theatre at 3-4pm.

31st December

  • History walk with Tony Mason, The Malakoff at 12pm.
  • New year’s eve celebrations in St Ives.

Will you be visiting St Ives over Christmas? What event would you love to attend? I would love to take Logan to watch a puppet show down there.

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Christmas comes to St Ives: Cornwall ✨

Leave a Reply

