item of the day · poem

Pretty item of the day: A remembrance day poppy ✨

November the 11th is a day to remember, the end of the first world war, to remember all who died in the line of duty. At 11am many stop to take a moment’s silence, many buy a poppy and I was asked a very good question yesterday ‘what does a poppy and november the 11th mean to you?’ I didn’t hesitate to answer, I have grown up with some of the men in my family in the forces, my dad wore his army uniform proudly in my parent’s wedding pictures around our family home. I have never lost someone dear to me and could not imagine the pain many family members went through during those hard times. The poppy is a beautiful symbol of respect and honoring those who have been lost, poppies bloomed across some of the worst battlefields of Flanders in World War I; the red colour became a symbol for the blood spilled in the war.

I have been also thinking, how did the poppy start? I found this online…

The red remembrance poppy has become a familiar emblem of Remembrance Day due to the poem “In Flanders Fields” written by Canadian physician Lieutenant-Colonel John McCrae. After reading the poem, Moina Michael, a professor at the University of Georgia, wrote the poem, “We Shall Remember,” and swore to wear a red poppy on the anniversary. The custom spread to Europe and the countries of the British Empire and Commonwealth within three years. – Wikipidia

Oh! you who sleep in Flanders Fields,
Sleep sweet – to rise anew!
We caught the torch you threw
And holding high, we keep the Faith
With All who died.

We cherish, too, the poppy red
That grows on fields where valor led;
It seems to signal to the skies
That blood of heroes never dies,
But lends a lustre to the red
Of the flower that blooms above the dead
In Flanders Fields.

And now the Torch and Poppy Red
We wear in honor of our dead.
Fear not that ye have died for naught;
We’ll teach the lesson that ye wrought
In Flanders Fields.

Above is the poem that Moina Michael wrote. I am wearing my poppy proudly, are you?

image

One thought on “Pretty item of the day: A remembrance day poppy ✨

Leave a Reply

